Zonal congresses: Northcentral PDP returns former executive members

The Northcentral zone of the Peoples Democratic (PDP) has returned all immediate past 23 officials to run the affairs of the party for the next four years.

Chairman of the Zonal Electoral Committee of the PDP in the zone, Dr Cletus Tyokaa, said that all the outgone zonal officials were returned unopposed.

He stated that in all, a total of 906 delegates were expected at the congress but only 820 were accredited and voted.

According to him, those who were returned unopposed were: Chairman, Theophilus Shan, Secretary, Maurice Tsav, Treasurer, Emmanuel Ibrahim, Publicity Secretary, Mohamed Suleiman and 21 others.

Benue State Governor, Chief Samuel Ortom tasked the newly elected officials on fairness, justice and equity in the discharge of their official responsibilities.

Ortom also disclosed that the party in the zone had resolved to end `godfatherism’, imposition of candidates and avoid the mistakes of 2015 and 2019 that gave APC victory.

He commended the stakeholders within the zone for exhibiting high-level of maturity throughout the processes that led to the election.

A former President of the Senate, Sen. David Mark, said that Nigerians and indeed the people of North Central had learnt their lessons by voting the APC, adding that at a time all the six governors and senators in the zone were elected under the platform of the PDP.

He urged the people to do more to reclaim their lost positions.

The immediate past Senate President and Chairman, PDP Reconciliatory Committee, Senator Bukola Saraki, said that it was time for the North-Central to recover its mandate in the remaining five states.

Saraki also said that it was time for the zone to provide the needed leadership that Nigerians yearned for by winning back all six states in the zone.

He appealed to the APC to stop disturbing their governors and allow them to concentrate on the good works that they were doing across their respective states.

Read Previous

Ekiti monarch escapes death in gunmen ambush

Read Next

Ex-information minister, Gana, three others rejoin PDP in Makurdi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular