APC’s candidate wins Jigawa assembly bye election

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Mallam Muhammad Adamu, has emerged the winner of Saturday’s by-election for the seat of Kafinhausa State Constituency in the Jigawa State House of Assembly.

Adamu polled 14,924 votes to beat other candidates in the election that the poll took place in the 120 polling units in the area.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Ahmed Kutama, declared the result at the collation centre in Kafinhausa Local Government Area, saying the APC candidate defeated his closest rival, Mallan Garba Muhammad Tambale, of the Peoples Democratic Party, who polled 8,612 votes.

The electoral officer declared Adamu the winner, having secured the highest number of votes.

The third contestant was Usman Isyako of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM) who secured 72 votes.

Read Previous

Buhari greets Obasanjo at 84, says ex-president a worthy statesman

Read Next

Buhari takes jab, assures of safety of Covid 19 vaccine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular